2011 Annual General Meeting of the Australasian Systematic Botany Society, Inc.

AGENDA

13.00, Friday, 25th November 2011, Mueller Hall, National Herbarium of Victoria, Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, Australia

- 1. Apologies
- 2. Minutes of the 2010 Annual General Meeting
 - See Appendix 1
- 3. Business arising from minutes
- 4. President's Report
- 5. Treasurer's Report
- 6. Newsletter Report
- 7. Web Page Report
- 8. Eichler Research Fund
- 9. Any other business
- 10. Election of Officers

Appendix 1

2010 Annual General Meeting of the Australian Systematic Botany Society, Inc.

AGENDA

16.00-18.00, Tuesday, 30 November 2010, Stewart lecture room, Stewart Building, Lincoln University, Lincoln, New Zealand

Meeting opened 4.13pm

Present: Peter Weston (President), Dale Dixon (Vice-President), Michael Bayly (Treasurer), Gillian Brown (Secretary), and 32 members, including ASBS life members Robyn Barker and John Clarkson.

1. Apologies

Brendan Lepschi, David Mabberley, Tanya Scharaschkin, Frank Zich

2. Minutes of the 2009 Annual General Meeting

Proposed that the minutes of the 31st Annual General Meeting (as published in The *Australian Systematic Botany Society Newsletter* Number 141) be accepted. Moved Peter Weston and seconded Gillian Brown. Motion carried.

3. Business arising from minutes

Nil

4. President's Report

Presented by Peter Weston, his first President's report. Copy will be printed in the ASBS newsletter. **See Attachment 1.**

Peter thanked the research committee for assessing the Eichler application

5. Treasurer's Report

Prepared by Michael Bayly and to be printed in the ASBS newsletter. This was Michael's last report as Treasurer. He said he has enjoyed being on council and originally expected to be on council for longer but due to change in circumstances he does not have the time to commit to the position of Treasurer. Michael thanked all members and wished council well.

Interest income was higher than last year on the research fund.

General fund is in a healthy position; the surplus was down on last year but last year was artificially inflated by the donation off the PPAA.

Income and expenditure on an annual basis are tightly coupled.

Proposed Michael Bayly, seconded by Karen Wilson. Carried. See Attachment 2.

6. Newsletter Report

Supplied by editors and read out by Peter Weston. Copy will be printed in the ASBS newsletter. **See Attachment 3.**

7. Web Page Report

Supplied by Murray Fagg and read out by Peter Weston. Copy will be printed in the ASBS newsletter. **See Attachment 3.**

8. Eichler Research Fund

Appendix 1

Dale Dixon thanked the research committee, for assessing, and Gillian Brown, for logistics of the two rounds of the Eichler award in 2010.

In 2010 there were 11 applications over the two rounds, six in March and five in the September round. The successful applications for the March 2010 round were Mark Wallace and Sarah Fayed. The successful applications for the September 2010 round were Caroline Puente-Leliève and James Ingham. Dale thanked all award applicants and congratulated the four successful students for 2010.

Kevin Thiele asked if the special resolution to change the name of the society to the Australasian Systematic Botany Society Incorporated is successful, would students from New Zealand be able to apply? Michael Bayly responded that council were not aware of any hindrance but there may be a few problems and council are looking into this.

9. Proposals for special resolutions to change the Society's rules

Peter Weston clarified that the vote at this AGM was to vote if the proposals should go to members and also to vote on the wording of the special resolutions to go to the ballot of all financial members. Peter confirmed that the change could be effected in a couple of months, with the ballot set to close on the 1st of March 2011 and the second General Meeting, at which the vote on the special resolutions are determined, to be held on the 15th of March 2011 at the National Herbarium of New South Wales.

There was discussion around a number of points of the special resolutions.

- If the name change is successful Annette Wilson (Public Officer) confirmed that, as public officer, she would register the name change with the registrar general and it would become valid on that day.
- Concerns over the quorum number, presently 13, were raised and Bill Barker suggested that perhaps different quorum numbers are required for different meetings (i.e. AGM versus special resolutions). Peter Weston (President) responded that this would need to go to through a separate special resolution. All agreed that this be dealt with once the current special resolutions have been resolved.
- The question of how we would define of Australasian was raised and Peter Weston responded there was no need to, this is a symbolic name change as we are already affiliated with Papua New Guinea and hope to expand our affiliations in the future.
- It was raised whether or not the New Zealand botanists want to join the society, which Peter Weston confirmed.

The two special resolutions were put, individually, to a vote of all members present at the AGM.

1. That the name of the association be changed from

"The Australian Systematic Botany Society Incorporated"

"The Australasian Systematic Botany Society Incorporated" Proposed Peter Weston, carried unanimously.

2. That Rule 30(5)(b) be changed from

"it is approved by the vote of at least 75% of those members of the Society who are entitled to vote"

"it is approved by the vote of at least 75% of those members of the Society who, being entitled to vote, vote in person or by proxy at the meeting"

Proposed Peter Weston, carried unanimously.

10. Any other business

Nil

Appendix 1

11. Election of Officers

Gillian Brown reported on the council nominations. All positions, except that of Treasurer, received applications by the due date and were elected unopposed. Council then sought to find a Treasurer. A signed nomination form for Treasurer was received from Frank Zich on the 23rd November 2010, who had originally nominated as Councillor. Gillian called for any other nominations from the floor, none were received, therefore Frank was elected unopposed as Treasurer. This created a vacancy for the Councillor in charge of memberships. On the 24th November 2010, a signed nomination form for Councillor was received from Pina Milne. Gillian called for any other nominations for Councillor from the floor, none were received, therefore Pina was elected unopposed as Councillor (assistant treasurer).

Council for 2010-2011

President: Peter Weston Vice president: Dale Dixon Secretary: Gillian Brown Treasurer: Frank Zich

Councillor (assistant secretary): Tanya Scharaschkin

Councillor (assistant treasurer): Pina Milne

Meeting closed at 5.19pm